• Go Beavers!!!

Pratt Community College Honor Societies Hold Inductions

05 March 2015

On March 3, Pratt Community College inducted 24 new members into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society (PTK) and 11 into Kappa Beta Delta (KBD), the business honor society in a joint ceremony.

PTK new inductees present were Ryan Landry, Gabreil Nall and Jamye McCarty of Pratt, Brian Carter of Bethel, Ohio, Taneasha Rhode of Fort Worth, Texas, Jazzmen Ortiz of Temple, Texas, Katie Jennings of Liberal, Emily Lucas of Larned, Katherine Schrag of Haven, Marina Hansen of Yuma, Colo., Rachel Himyak of Broomfield, Colo. Jocelyn Cochran of Newton, Rachel Schmidt of Greensburg, Mattison Dusin of Phillipsburg, Jeniffer Himelrick of Anthony, Dominique Broadus of St. Louis, Mo. and Jackie Smith of Plains.

KBD inductees were Danielle Casilio, Taylor Graf, Kathryn Gutierrez, Jacob Hamerle, Marina Hansen, Jennifer Himelrick, Katie Jennings, Sherri Johnson, Spencer Kraus, Nathan Roth and Emily Wooldridge.
The chapter advisers of the two honor societies presided over the ceremony, which was attended by family and friends of the inductees in addition to PCC faculty, staff, administrators and trustees.

Instructor and 2015 PCC Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee Gregg Wade gave the special address, where he lectured on money, power and economics and challenged the inductees to take part in the upcoming election cycles and fight for the dwindling middle class.

Phi Theta Kappa, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) as the official honor society of two-year colleges.

Kappa Beta Delta is an honor society for business, management and administration majors at accredited two-year schools. Kappa Beta Delta member institutions are accredited through the Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP).

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, contact chapter adviser Leighanne Dean at leighanned@prattcc.edu. For more information about Kappa Beta Delta, contact chapter adviser Carol Ricke at carolr@prattcc.edu.

 All PTK and KBD inductees with club advisors
KBD and PTK with sponsors_1.jpg

Phi Theta Kappa inductees

Kappa Beta Delta inductees

Gregg Wade delivers special address

PTK officer Jackie Smith ​

PTK advisor Leighanne Dean